Day four, the city tour

Tasting: French-press coffee, spicy unagi roll
Smelling: green tea, manure, petrol
Hearing: large paper bags crinkling, my boots clicking, our tour guide speaking
Seeing: crowded shopping streets, more of my campus
Feeling: tired legs, just tired

The day started off with Peaky Blinders. Now that I’ve either finished or been regionally cut off from the TV shows I was watching this summer, I can finally continue this one. So far I do not find the characters very relatable– an anomaly for when I watch TV. Usually the second thing I do is figure out which character makes me point at the screen and declare, “that’s me.” But the cinematography is gorgeous, and the music is right up my alley. Plus I’m always a sucker for organized crime fiction.

I motivated myself to get out of the apartment by checking out the Asian/Afro-Caribbean market, which was very small but had a bottle of curry powder and a can of tomato paste– both essential pantry items. I went to the chemist (pharmacy) on the way back to get contact lens solution and cases so I didn’t have to only wear my glasses like I had been. I had to ask behind the counter for solution, and the sales reps had to check in storage for the cases. The bottle was about 3 oz and I only received one case, but the total cost would have bought much more of both back in the US! Chemists seem to be a sort of boutique affair here, although there are some CVS-like places, like Boots.

My roommate Erin and I went to the walking tour for international students, which was mainly for exploring the city but we got to see a little bit more of campus. The photo in this post is a view from the top floor of the student center. There’s the main quad, which is exactly what it sounds like, but is surrounded on three sides by the “Harry Potter building.” Now, my architectural and archeological vocabulary is pretty limited so I’m not going to pretend to be able to describe it accurately. But one can walk through the halls on each side, and the ones that we saw exhibited stones.

Erin and another student on the tour joined our tour guide, Hazwan, at lunch at a sushi restaurant– my first meal out since I’ve arrived. I don’t plan to go out to eat very much while living here, but sushi is always welcome. The shopping streets here are nice and walkable, with no cars, and remind me a bit of those in Leuven, Belgium. A little less grid-like and more confusing, though. On my way back, I bought a few more organizational items for my room. Now to actually get that room in order.

Leave a Reply

