Day 62

Smelling: wood smoke, my herby laundry detergent
Feeling: very tall in my heels, sweaty hair, too cold, velveteen upholstery on the bottoms of the opera house seats, the taxi cab drive way to quickly
Hearing: my Halloween playlist, acclaimed North American folk musicians, “Sweet Dreams, TN”
Tasting: almost every kind of Cadbury Dairy Milk bar
Seeing: people costumed on the streets, my clean and organized room, a very empty music building, Sam shoot an apple off Laura’s head

Daylight Savings Time was still urging me to get up early, so I spent the morning writing before heading to the music building, taking advantage of its vacancy to shamelessly bang out some pop music. This lead to me trying to arrange this one song I’ve been obsessed with for the past few months, “Sweet Dreams, TN” by the Last Shadow Puppets. And I believe I actually am onto a good start! Of course I went over my jazz stuff as well; how could I not when the Jazz Festival is in full swing? Pun intended.

I went to the gym for a bit and worked out to Streetlight Manifesto because Brian saw them in concert last night. On my way back from the gym I thought I heard something scraping on the bottom of my shoe and found that it was a rhinestone. Then, I almost stepped on a banana, then I tried to take a shortcut through a parking lot but it was closed for the bank holiday. So that was a very eventful ten minutes.

I got back, showered and changed into my costume, and ate a bit of breakfast for lunch before heading downstairs for the party. It was basically a long pregame before going out later that night, and I had a concert that night so I wasn’t pregaming at all. So I got a little bored, but some friends and I went to the Centra to get snacks/cash. I specifically went there to get one of each mini Cadbury Dairy Milk bar flavor, and Laura and I created a video review that ranked our preferences (which I will of course post).

I changed into the dress I had bought at the dress sale and threw my jacket over it, which honestly was barely sufficient for the walk there so I knew I’d take a cab back (which I probably would have done at such a late hour anyway).

The concert was Loudon Wainwright III, the patriarch of the family of Wainwright (and Roche) family of folk musicians; you probably know him for his son Rufus and/or daughter Martha. The opening act was Chaim Tannenbaum, a longtime collaborator of Loudon’s and a Canadian philosophy professor in Montréal. I’m not sure if the bitter and sarcastic opening act is an archetype or a common occurrence, but Chaim certainly fit it. One of the first songs he played was a tongue-in-cheek view the trajectory and end of Loudon’s life.

Loudon also had a sort of bitterness about his songs, but he was a lot more chipper. He loved to stick his tongue out as he played. He also had a feature in his show in which he had his father, Loudon Wainwright Jr., as a guest by reading some of his columns that he’d written for Life Magazine. Loudon III had studied acting for some of undergrad before becoming a musician, and as you might imagine his delivery was expert.

Towards the end of the concert Chaim came back on and the two of them played a couple songs together (and the encore), including “The Swimming Song”! It’s one of my favorite McGarrigle sister songs, and their performance of it was so lovely my heart felt like bursting. The only other cover I’ve heard that brought me that much joy was one by Leftover Salmon during DelFest a few years ago that I heard in a half-awake state.

I felt a sorta sadness about the fact that I had hardly seen any jazz during this jazz festival; Chaim and Loudon made a few jokes about the audience being small due to them being folk musicians at a jazz festival (even though they were technically part of the lineup). There were several circumstances that got in the way of seeing music sometimes. But sometimes when there’s so much available, there’s really so little you can do. Well, I know that I will have many more, and probably better, chances at something like this.

Leave a Reply

