Day 2.44

Smelling: the fencing supply closet
Hearing: rain and wind outside, my class talking and laughing
Tasting: a delicious, salty vegetarian sandwich from a café before class, my homemade cold brew coffee
Seeing: an episode of A Series of Unfortunate Events, my clean room
Feeling: the PT massage away the knots in my lower back

When I woke up, I didn’t have much of an appetite but I did have a thirst for coffee, and the cold brew that I was chilling in the fridge was waiting for me. It was delicious and well worth the wait. And with the high it gave me, I felt an urge to do a full cleaning of my room and some of the kitchen. I did some vacuuming and found that there was a bit of broken glass on my carpet, so I’m really glad I did it when I did. There are plenty of other things I could have done with my morning (work on my graphic memoir! work on my essays! read that book!), but I think that having a clean living/working space will help me achieve them more efficiently.

I went to my follow-up physiotherapy appointment, which confirmed my belief that my back health was indeed improving, and the therapist gave me ways to advance my exercises. She said “it’s good that you have a broad back” and like, thanks, but did she mean that makes me healthier or just that it’s easier to work on a broad back?

I went into Café Gusto to try the goat cheese and onion marmalade sandwich while reading the article I was supposed to read before Food Policy class. The actual class itself was, as usual, pretty interesting. I think more students than usual showed up today. Also, like I mentioned before, the professor actually interacts with us. The American students in the class offer input a lot more, which may be in part because that’s what we’re used to doing and in part because he talks and asks a lot about the US.

I made one of the least exciting soups I’ve ever made before fencing that night. Hey, it’s hard to make a pre-fencing dinner. I don’t wanna use many fatty ingredients because I’ll end up cramping and sluggish. Fencing itself that night was alright. Coach discussed tactics for Intervarsities; he had us work on second-intention attacks for the majority of the class. This is basically when your opponent attacks and you turn their attack into yours, like with a riposte or with taking their blade.

I ate the rest of the soup and some leftover pizza, then watched an episode of A Series of Unfortunate Events and passed out into a dreamless sleep.

Leave a Reply

